Five NFTS graduation films have been shortlisted for the prestigious Grierson Awards that commemorate the pioneering Scottish documentary filmmaker John Grierson (1898 – 1972), famous for Drifters and Night Mail and the man widely regarded as the father of the documentary. For an amazing seventh year running, the NFTS have the most films selected in student documentary section. Nominations for the awards ceremony will be announced on the 19th of September. The NFTS films short-listed for the ITV Best Student Documentary category of the Grierson Award are:

Acta Non Verba directed by Yvann Yagchi and produced by Fawzia Mahmood 

The Adventures of an Aspiring Rock Star directed by Sam Oldmeadowl

Chomo directed by Maayan Arad

Pride In Rags directed by Tom Whitaker

Unspeakable directed by Kate Stonehill

In addition, no fewer than 82 NFTS students and graduates are credited on projects which have been shortlisted for this year’s Grierson Awards. These include:

Best Single Documentary - Domestic

Aberfan: The Green Hollow - Sound Effects Editor, Vicente Villaescusa

No Place to Call Home - Director/Producer, Luke Sewell

One Killer Punch – Composer, Chris White

Rio Ferdinand: Being Mum and Dad – Composer, Mat Davidson

A World Without Down’s Syndrome? – Composer, Chris White

Best Single Documentary - International

Unarmed Black Male – Composer, Mat Davidson

Best Arts Documentary

Paula Rego: Secrets and Stories - Writer/Director/Editor, Nick Willing; Producer, Michele Camarda

Best Historical Documentary

Aberfan: The Green Hollow - Sound Effects Editor, Vicente Villaescusa

Best Science Documentary

China: Between Clouds and Dreams -  Additional Music Composer, Alex Harwood

Forces of Nature with Brian Cox Episode 2 - Supervising Sound Editor, Jay Price; Sound, Andy Paddon

How to Build a Human - Prosthetic Effects Producer, Kate Walshe

Best Entertaining Documentary

First Dates Series 8 Part 1 - Lead Editor, Radoslaw Sienski; Composer, Miguel d’Oliveira

Get Shirty – Editor, Pawel Slawek

Best Documentary Series

24 Hours in Police Custody - Assistant Editors, Pawel Slawek and Manuela Lupini

American Justice – Composer, Jon Opstad

Conviction: Murder at the Station – Director, James Newton

Exodus: Our Journey to Europe – Editors, Simon Sykes; Nick Fenton and Sunshine Jackson

Hospital - Director/Producers, Amanda Richardson and Marc Williamson; Assistant Producer, Lyttanya Shannon

Best Constructed Documentary Series

First Dates Hotel – Composer, Miguel d’Oliveira

The Secret Life of Four and Five Year Olds – Director, Jackie Waldock

The Trial: Murder in the Family – DoP, Carlos Catalan

DocHouse Best Cinema Documentary

Half Way – Editor, Vera Simmonds; Sound Designer, Luke Shrewsbury

Letters from Baghdad – Cinematography, Gary Clarke

Best Documentary Short

Adrift - Director/Producer, Cath Le Couteur; Editor/Sound Designer, Michele Chiappa; Colourist, Susumu Asano

Johanna – Colourist, Susumu Asano

The Refugee Diaries Episode 3 – Editor, Yann Heckmann

For more information on the National Film and Television School, please visit