Annika Summerson and Adam Singodia win the 2021 Sue Gibson Awards

The National Film and Television School have today announced that alumna Annika Summerson has won the 2021 NFTS Sue Gibson BSC Award. The award was voted upon by the alumni of the school and Summerson won for her work on the BFI-backed film Mogul Mowgli.

Annika Summerson on set for Mogul Mowgli

Annika Summerson becomes the fifth winner of the award joining fellow recipients Charlotte Bruus Christensen ASC, Sir Roger Deakins ASC, Jakob Ihre FNF and last year’s winner Natasha Braier ASC.

The award was established in memory of NFTS alumna Sue Gibson BSC. The first woman to be invited to join the British Society of Cinematographers and its first female President.

Annika commented “I’m so honoured to have won this award and especially for this little film we made a few years ago now. Sue Gibson was a pioneer and trailblazer for women in our industry, together with the equally amazing Nina Kellgren they both taught me at the NFTS and have always been a great support”.

In the Music Video and Commercial category, 2019 graduate Adam Singodia fought off tough competition to win for his work on Hold On for the band Not Waving. Hold On was filmed in Kiev and Adam commented “Hold On was a real passion project adventure born out of lockdown and the need to create. By limiting the technical elements to a minimum (shooting on a single lens with no artificial lighting) we were able to react to the energy of the characters and their environments. It’s an immense honour to receive this award and I’m so happy that people have resonated with the film”.

Adam Singodia

Jon Wardle, Director of the National Film and Television School, commented: “In our 50th year it’s wonderful to see just how diverse the work of our Cinematography graduates is and so I want to congratulate Annika on her beautiful cinematography on Mogul Mowgli but also to Adam who graduated only two years ago and is clearly going places!”. The awards will be presented in the New Year at an event at the NFTS where all Cinematography alumni will be invited to return.