(Mahalia picking up her BAFTA! Credit: BAFTA)

We are extremely proud of our Directing Fiction MA graduate Mahalia Belo who has won the Breakthrough Talent award at this year’s BAFTA Television Craft Awards for her work on the critically acclaimed Channel 4 single drama Ellen, starring Jessie Barden. Ellen credits a number of NFTS graduates including DoP, Chloe Thomson; Editor Carmela Iandoli; Composer, Jonathan Hill; Production Designer, Laura Ellis Cricks (formerly Tarrant-Brown) and Art Director Thalia Ecclestone.

(Still from Ellen)

Mahalia graduated from the NFTS in 2012 and her graduation film, Volume premiered at Sundance and won the British Independent Film Award for Best Short Film. She was subsequently featured on the cover of Screen’s ‘Stars of Tomorrow’ issue and is currently in pre-production on original psychological horror Requiem’, directing all six episodes for BBC 1.

Other productions receiving accolades at the Television Craft BAFTAs, which credit NFTS graduates include: The Night Manager, which received the BAFTA for Best Sound: Fiction (NFTS Sound Recording graduate, Juan Montoto Ugarte; Sound Assistant), and The Crown, which picked up the BAFTA for Special, Visual and Graphic Effects and had NFTS graduates, Victor Tomi on the crew as a Compositor and Jorge Canada Escorihuela as an Additional VFX Supervisor.

Meanwhile, the nominations for the Virgin TV British Academy Television Awards have been announced and over 30 NFTS graduates and two Heads of Department are credited! This year’s ceremony will be held at London’s Royal Festival Hall on Sunday 14 May. Credits are as follows:

Best Drama Series

The Crown:  Script Editor, Edward Hemming; Editor, Una Ni Dhonghaile; Digital Compositor, Victor Tomi; Sound FX Editor, Alex Ellerington; Additional VFX Supervisor, Jorge Canada Escorihuela; Rerecording Mixers, Stuart Hilliker & Martin Jensen; Additional Music Composer, Evan Jolly

The Durrells:  Additional Music, Jon Wygens

War and Peace:  Composer, Martin Phipps; Rerecording Mixer, Stuart Hilliker;     Boom Operator, Vytautas Kizala; Sound FX Editor, Alex Ellerington; Matchmove Artist, Sarah Byers

Happy Valley: Edited by NFTS Head of Editing, Richard Cox

Best Factual Series

24 Hours in Police Custody: Assistant Editors, Manuela Lupini and Pawel Slawek

Exodus: Our Journey to Europe: Editors, Simon Sykes; Nick Fenton and Sunshine Jackson

Best Mini-Series

The Hollow Crown: The Wars of the Roses: Art Department Assistant, Jamie Burrows

National Treasure: Supervising Sound Editor, Paul Davies; Post-Production Co-ordinator, Katherine Pearl

Witness for the Prosecution: DoP Felix Wiedemann

Best Reality & Constructed Factual

First Dates (Series 7): Composer, Miguel d’Oliveira

The Secret Life of 5 Year Olds: Director, Jackie Waldock

Best Scripted Comedy

Fleabag:  Graphic Designer, Clare Winkworth; Sound Maintenance, Howard Peryer

Best Specialist Factual

Attenborough's Life That Glows: Screenwriter, NFTS Head of Natural History, Paul Reddish

Best Single Drama

Aberfan: The Green Hollow: Sound Effects Editor, Vicente Villaescusa

Murdered by My Father: DoP, Felix Wiedemann

NW: Sound Effects Editor, Matis Rei

Best Soap & Continuing Drama

Casualty: Director, Matthew Evans; Writer, Laura Poliakoff

Eastenders: Writer, Laura Poliakoff

Emmerdale: Director, Diana Patrick

And finally, an impressive 33 NFTS students and graduates have been selected for the BAFTA Crew programme, which connects emerging talent with writers, directors and producers, providing a rare opportunity for peer to peer networking and development across all key roles within production – they include:

Abigail Dankwa, Director

Alexandra Harwood, Composer

Andrea Cuadrado, Editing

Andrew Alderslade, Camera

Andrew Oldbury, Producer

Ani Laurie, Director

Anushka Naanayakkara, Director

Bojan Brbora, Camera

Caroline Bridges, Camera

Chiara Ventura, Producer

Elena Ruscombe-King, Writer

Emily Morgan, Producer

Eva Weber, Director

Fawzia Mahmood, Producer

Fiona Brands, Editing

Frances Poletti, Writer

Hannah Cole, Producer

Ian Forbes, Camera

Ina Remme, Producer

Jac Clinch, Director

Katherine Pearl, Production Management

Louis Dodd, Composer

Maddie Quarm, Sound (Production)

Manuela Lupini, Editing

Mike Forshaw, Director

Nosa Eke, Director

Pawel Slawek, Editing

Samantha Rhodes, Editing

Simona Susnea, Camera

Sophie Halton, Production Management

Thomas Blazukas, Sound (Post Production)

Tim Morrish, Composer

Vera Simmonds, Editing