NFTS Grads & Senior Tutor Edit BAFTA Winning TV Series

Happy Valley, edited by NFTS Head of Editing, Richard Cox beat off stiff competition from The Crown to win Best Drama and Best Actress (Sarah Lancashire) at the 2017 Virgin TV British Academy Television Awards.  

Richard works frequently with Happy Valley writer and director, Sally Wainwright who recently delivered an inspiring masterclass to NFTS students where Richard described her as “one of the best, if not the best TV writers and directors around!”

If you are a keen editor and would love to be taught by Richard, find out more about our Editing MA at

There was also success for the NFTS Editing department in the Best Factual Series category which was won by Exodus: Our Journey to Europe and credits no fewer than three NFTS Editing MA graduates, Simon Sykes, Nick Fenton and Sunshine Jackson.

‘Best Soap and Continuing Drama’ went to Emmerdale, which credits NFTS Directing Fiction alumna, Diana Patrick. Diana has been directing episodes of the long running series since 1998.

The ‘Leading Actor’ award went to Adeel Akhtar who starred in single drama, Murdered by My Father, which credits NFTS Cinematography graduate, Felix Wiedemann as DoP.

Phoebe Waller-Bridge won the 'Female Performance in a Comedy Programme' category for Fleabag, which credits NFTS Production Design graduate, Clare Winkworth as Graphic Designer and Sound Recording graduate, Howard Peryer as Sound Maintenance.

National Treasure won the BAFTA for Best Mini Series and credits NFTS graduates, Paul Davies as Supervising Sound Editor and Katherine Pearl as Post-Production Co-Ordinator.

Tom Hollander won Best Supporting Actor for The Night Manager, which credits Sarah Byers, Matchmove Artist; Maria Salcher, Assistant Production Co-ordinator and Juan Montoto Ugarte as Sound Assistant.

BAFTA TV Awards Nominations with NFTS credits:

Best Drama Series

The Crown:  Script Editor, Edward Hemming; Editor, Una Ni Dhonghaile; Digital Compositor, Victor Tomi; Sound FX Editor, Alex Ellerington; Additional VFX Supervisor, Jorge Canada Escorihuela; Rerecording Mixers, Stuart Hilliker & Martin Jensen; Additional Music Composer, Evan Jolly

The Durrells:  Additional Music, Jon Wygens

War and Peace:  Composer, Martin Phipps; Rerecording Mixer, Stuart Hilliker;     Boom Operator, Vytautas Kizala; Sound FX Editor, Alex Ellerington; Matchmove Artist, Sarah Byers

Happy Valley: Edited by NFTS Head of Editing, Richard Cox

Best Factual Series

24 Hours in Police Custody: Assistant Editors, Manuela Lupini and Pawel Slawek

Exodus: Our Journey to Europe: Editors, Simon Sykes; Nick Fenton and Sunshine Jackson

Best Mini-Series

The Hollow Crown: The Wars of the Roses: Art Department Assistant, Jamie Burrows

National Treasure: Supervising Sound Editor, Paul Davies; Post-Production Co-ordinator, Katherine Pearl

Witness for the Prosecution: DoP Felix Wiedemann

Best Reality & Constructed Factual

First Dates (Series 7): Composer, Miguel d’Oliveira

The Secret Life of 5 Year Olds: Director, Jackie Waldock

Best Scripted Comedy

Fleabag:  Graphic Designer, Clare Winkworth; Sound Maintenance, Howard Peryer

Best Specialist Factual

Attenborough's Life That Glows: Screenwriter, NFTS Head of Natural History, Paul Reddish

Best Single Drama

Aberfan: The Green Hollow: Sound Effects Editor, Vicente Villaescusa

Murdered by My Father: DoP, Felix Wiedemann

NW: Sound Effects Editor, Matis Rei

Best Soap & Continuing Drama

Casualty: Director, Matthew Evans; Writer, Laura Poliakoff

Eastenders: Writer, Laura Poliakoff

Emmerdale: Director, Diana Patrick