The National Film and Television School (NFTS) announces the launch of the ‘Sue Gibson BSC Cinematography Award’, which recognises a member of NFTS Cinematography Alumni who has advanced the profession of Cinematography in a significant way. Sue Gibson, who sadly passed away last year, was herself an award-winning NFTS alumna and also the first female president of the British Society of Cinematographers (BSC). She was known for her work on feature films, including Alien v Predator, The Holiday, Hear My Song and Mrs Dalloway as well as numerous TV Series such as The Forsythe Saga, Spooks, Lewis, Poirot and Death in Paradise.

The five nominees have been voted for by NFTS Cinematography alumni who include many illustrious and successful DoPs from multi-Oscar nominee, Roger Deakins to Emmy nominee, Suzie Lavelle. The winner of the award will be announced in September 2017 and the presentation will follow at a special event to include a masterclass delivered by the winner.

The nominees are as follows:

·         Natasha Braier, ADF for her work on The Neon Demon

·         Charlotte Bruus Christensen, DFF for her work on Fences and The Girl on the Train

·         Ula Pontikos, BSC for her work on Television series Marcella

·         Tom Townend for his work on the film, You Were Never Really Here

·         Vanessa Whyte who together with Katie Goldschmidt created 'Illuminatrix', a collective of female cinematographers working together to promote the work of female DPs’

(Sue Gibson filming in Guadeloupe)

Jon Wardle, NFTS Director, said: “We felt that it was important to recognise Sue’s achievements as a Cinematographer and her legacy in the advancement of female DoPs and the Cinematography profession as a whole. We chose to name an award after her as both a fitting tribute and commemoration of such an inspiring member of our alumni.

Sue’s partner Mike Roberts said: “We are delighted that the NFTS has chosen to honour Sue’s memory in this way. She was passionate about passing her skills on to a younger generation of cinematographers and this is truly a fitting tribute.”