A record nine NFTS alumni are among the 928 people invited to join the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences this year as part of a drive to increase the diversity of its membership.

L-R: Daisy Jacobs with her Short Animation BAFTA; Joachim Trier and Clio Barnard delivering recent NFTS Masterclasses

The nine alumni include Cinematographer, Ula Pontikos; Directors, Clio Barnard and Aisling Walsh; Editors, Valerio Bonelli and Nicholas Chaudeurge; Short Film Makers, Daisy Jacobs, Timothy Reckart and Hugh Welchman and Writer, Joachim Trier.

(Charlotte Bruus Christensen delivering NFTS masterclass hosted by Brian Tufano)

They join fellow NFTS alumni who are already members such as Cinematographers, Charlotte Bruus Christensen, Edu Grau, Natasha Braier and Alwin Kuchler; Documentary makers, Nick Broomfield and Kim Longinotto; Sound Engineer, Stuart Wilson; Production Designer, Tatiana Maconald; Directors, Michael Lennox, Lynne Ramsay and Sarah Gavron

(Lynne Ramsay with NFTS students and James Wilson)

More information at http://www.oscars.org/news/academy-invites-928-membership