Two NFTS Student Made Films Win At BAFTA 2024

Last night, the 77th British Academy Film Awards were held at the Royal Festival Hall in London, honouring the best national and foreign films of 2023 and The National Film and Television School is thrilled to announce two student made films were awarded with prestigious accolades.

Animation Crab Day and fiction Jellyfish and Lobster, awarded in the British Short Animation and British Short Film categories respectively, were crafted at the NFTS by a team of passionate and committed students. We're incredibly proud to see their hard-work and talent recognised on the world stage, a huge achievement so recently after graduating from the National Film & Television School and exceptionally early on in their filmmaking careers. The award also stands as a historic accomplishment for the School itself, which last won both short film categories at the 43rd British Academy Film Awards in 1990 with Nick Park's A Grand Day Out and Peter Hewitt's The Candy Show!


team of people smiling at camera

Jellyfish and Lobster and Crab Day teams at the BAFTAs

The celebrations do not stop there for NFTS alumni! Shirley O’Connor was awarded Outstanding Debut by a British Producer for Earth Mama, Tarn Willers won the Sound BAFTA for The Zone of Interest and Dean Koonjul was recognised for Special Visual Effects on Poor Things. Countless other alumni worked on award-winning films across the categories including Oppenheimer which was awarded seven BAFTAs, including Best Film!

NFTS Director Jon Wardle said; “This incredible BAFTA news is even more inspiring as it kickstarts our annual Graduate Showcase at the BFI Southbank this week. Just this time last year we graduated the Jellyfish and Lobster and Crab Day teams, highlighting how the NFTS is shaping the future of filmmaking and how ready our graduates are when they step out into the industry.”

The National Film and Television School would like to offer our resounding congratulations to the incredible teams behind Crab Day and Jellyfish and Lobster and to our established alumni for continuing to make exceptional work, deserving of one of the highest honours in the industry.


Graduate Crew

Director/Animator Ross Stringer
Producer Bartosz Stanislawek
Screenwriter Aleksandra Sykulak
Cinematographer Tom Simington
Production Designer Olivia Clarke
Production Manager Chloe O'Donoghue
Editor Donya Maguire
Sound Designer/Dubbing Mixer Simon Panayi
Composer Matteo Tronchin
Colourist/Online Editor Aiden Tobin

Graduate Crew

Director/Writer Yasmin Afifi
Producer Elizabeth Rufai
Cinematographer Linda Wu
Production Designer Gili Ofri
Production Manager Diana Duah
Assistant Director Daniel Pachalski
Focus Puller Gemma Mancinelli
2nd AC Benjamin Hart
Loader Tania Garcia de Pedro
Production Sound Mixer Callum Bentley
1st Assistant Sound Erin Millican
Editor Max Reynolds
Sound Designer/Dubbing Mixer Conor Thompson
Composer Catherine Hillier
Colourist/Online Editor Vanessa Aparicio

Up Next