Our credits tell the story.

Masterclasses and seminars with filmmakers give the opportunity for students to learn from and interact with established and experienced professionals as they discuss their approach to filmmaking.

Masterclass Photos

These are organised throughout the year both at the school and in London. Students have the opportunity to hear from, question and be inspired by distinguished filmmakers from around the world. The NFTS invites a wide range of leading filmmakers to give seminars and masterclasses on their own films and careers.

Visitors have included:

  • Tim Bevan (Hail Ceasar!, The Theory of Everything, Notting Hill, Four Weddings and a Funeral)
  • Sir Nicholas Hytner (The Lady In The Van, The Madness of King George)
  • Gemma Jackson (Game of Thrones, Finding Neverland)
  • Sarah Gavron (Suffragette, Brick Lane)
  • Sam Mendes (Spectre, Skyfall, American Beauty)
  • Ron Howard (Rush, Frost/Nixon, A Beautiful Mind, Apollo 13)
  • Christoper Nolan (Interstellar, The Dark Knight Rises, Inception)
  • Julie Taymore (A Midsummer Night's Dream, The Tempest)
  • Walter Murch (Apocalypse Now, The Godfather trilogy, The English Patient, Cold Mountain)
  • Russell T Davies (Doctor Who, Queer As Folk, Tofu, Banana, Cucumber)
  • David Heyman (Paddington, Harry Potter)
  • Pawel Pawlikowski (Ida)
  • Justin Chadwick (Mandela: Long Walk To Freedom, The Other Boleyn Girl)
  • Susanne Bier (Serena, Brothers, After The Wedding)
  • Rob Marshall (Into The Woods, Chicago)
  • Jeffrey Katzenberg (How To Train Your Dragon, Madagascar)
  • Rian Johnson (Looper)
  • Sally Potter (Ginger and Rosa)
  • Mike Figgis (Leaving Las Vegas)
  • Amma Asante (Belle)
  • Stephen Soderbergh (Traffic, Che)
  • Darren Aronofsky (Black Swan, The Wrestler)
  • David Fincher (Fight Club, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button)
  • Danny Boyle (Trainspotting, Slumdog Millionaire)
  • Wong Kar Wai (In the Mood for Love)
  • Terry Gilliam (The Imaginarium of Dr Parnassus) writer
  • Aaron Sorkin (The West Wing, The Social Network)
  • Thomas Vinterberg (Festen, Submarino)
  • Alejandro Gonzales Inarritu (Babel)
  • Animation director Henry Selick (Coraline, The Nightmare Before Christmas)
  • Editor Chris Dickens (Shaun of the Dead, Submarine)
  • Alan Parker (Bugsy Malone, Mississippi Burning, Angel Heart)
  • David Yates (Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows)
  • Terence Davies (Of Time and The City)
  • Nick Park (Wallace and Gromit)
  • Eric Fellner, producer and co-founder of Working Title
  • Tony Robinson, actor and presenter (Blackadder, Time Team)
  • Joel Silver, producer (The Matrix)
  • Oliver Stone (Platoon, Natural Born Killers)
  • Roger Deakins, NFTS graduate (DoP No Country for Old Men, Fargo)
  • Ray Harryhausen (Clash of the Titans, Jason and the Argonauts)
  • Paul Abbott, writer (Shameless)
  • Casey Affleck, actor (The Assassination of Jesse James)
  • Mike Leigh (Secrets and Lies, Topsy Turvy)
  • Wes Anderson (The Royal Tennenbaums, The Life Aquatic)
  • Matt Stone and Trey Parker (South Park, Team America)
  • Chris Doyle, cinematographer (In The Mood for Love, Paranoid Park)
  • Peter Weir (Picnic at Hanging Rock, Witness, Master and Commander)
  • Ken Loach (Kes, The Wind That Shakes the Barley, Cathy Come Home)
  • M Night Shyamalan (The Village, The Sixth Sense)
  • Sylvian Chomet (Belleville Rendezvous)
  • Guy Ritchie (Lock Stock and Two Smoking Barrels, Sherlock Holmes)
  • Joe Cornish (Attack the Block) 

These events are in addition to specialist seminars and masterclasses run by each department for their own students. They are optional and open to all students.