The National Film and Television School to Present Production Design Innovators Sarah Greenwood & Katie Spencer with Prestigious Honorary Fellowship

The National Film and Television School (NFTS) will bestow its prestigious annual Honorary Fellowship upon award-winning creative duo, Production Designer Sarah Greenwood and Set Decorator Katie Spencer, both recently BAFTA and Academy Award nominated for their renowned work creating the critically acclaimed Barbie.

NFTS Chair Sophie Turner Laing will present the Fellowship, awarded each year to individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to the industry, at the School's annual graduation ceremony on Friday 23rd February 2024 in Central London.

The prolific, long-time collaborators and six-time Oscar nominees have worked on over 30 projects together, showcasing their world building prowess on films including Barbie, Pride and Prejudice, Anna Karenina, Beauty and the Beast, Atonement, Darkest Hour and the upcoming Amy Winehouse biopic, Back to Black.

Sarah Greenwood

Sarah Greenwood

The NFTS Board of Governors selected the duo as recipients of the School's prestigious Honorary Fellowship in recognition of the pivotal role they have made to the cinematic landscape over more than two decades. In acknowledging Sarah and Katie's artistic achievements, the NFTS board applaud their unparalleled commitment to craftsmanship, showcasing prowess that elevates their work to the highest standards. Additionally, the duo's long-standing partnership highlights the important of collaboration, an ethos at the heart of both NFTS training and the filmmaking process alike. Also commended was the pair's unwavering dedication to nurturing emerging talent and contributing to the growth and success of the National Film and Television School students.

In anticipation of the upcoming fellowship award, Sarah Greenwood and Katie Spencer said: 
''It's a great privilege for us to have been awarded this year's Honorary Fellowship from The National Film and Television School. It has always been such a pleasure to be involved in the School and its work over the years. We've been fortunate enough to have worked closely with many amazing graduates who bring a wealth of talent and knowledge to set and are beyond proud to now be part of such a widely respected institution.''

Katie Spencer

Katie Spencer

Sophie Turner Laing, NFTS Chair shared her enthusiasm, ''The meticulously crafted worlds brought to life by Sarah Greenwood and Katie Spencer are nothing short of cinematic magic. Their body of work is a stunning display of how art can seamlessly transport audiences to imaginary places. Their creative brilliance and unique combination of craftsmanship, collaboration and consistent dedication to the industry serves as profound inspiration to our students and graduates. We are thrilled to extend a warm welcome to them as Honorary Fellows of the National Film and Television School.''

In 2023, the NFTS awarded an Honorary Fellowship to the award-winning screenwriter, playwright and prominent advocate for the disabled community, Jack Thorne. The NFTS Board of Governors selected him as recipient of the prestigious Honorary Fellowship in recognition of the exceptional contribution he has made to the film and television industry both as a writer and as a campaigner for equality. For more information and to see the full list of NFTS Fellows, visit:

Additionally, the NFTS will showcase the outstanding work of its talented 2024 graduates to industry professionals at the BFI Southbank, running from Monday 19th to Thursday 22nd February. For industry members eager to witness the projects crafted by the next wave of emerging filmmakers and content creators, registrations for available screenings can still be made via

Up Next